Spirit Saturday: The Weretiger

Long ago, when I was still in diapers, toddling around the jungles of northern Thailand with my missionary folks, they had a get together with all their missionary friends.

One of the older missionaries, a wise and respected man, told this story.

“We had just moved to a new village, and several people were coming to Jesus. The local witch doctor was angry about it. We found strange things outside our door, and outside the other Christian’s doors . . . cursed items and the like. The witch doctor was powerful, but I wasn’t worried.

But one night, as I lay sleeping, I woke up and smelled a tiger (tigers have a powerful, unmistakable scent). Thinking it was underneath the hut (his hut was on stilts) I jumped out of bed to find my gun. But the Tiger was standing at the foot of my bed!

I yelled in fright. The Tiger jumped out of my house.

I grabbed my gun, and rallied the men in the village. We hunted it through the dark jungle. And then … the Tiger attacked. One of the men shot it. When we walked over to where the Tiger fell, we found the witch doctor lying there, dead. Killed by a gunshot wound.”

 

SO, what do you think, earthlings?

Do you think the missionary was smoking something? 

Has anything strange and unexplainable happened to you or someone you know?

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I always like to believe that people tell the truth, and as a man of God one can only assume the missionary was a good guy and not lying. Who knows?

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 9, 2011

      Yes, good to think the best of people. I believe he’s telling the truth.

      Reply
  2. That is one crazy story! Strange and unexplainable things happen all the time. It’s human nature to try and understand it all but we can’t. Wouldn’t life be boring if there were no mysteries?

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 9, 2011

      We So want to explain away phenomenon, but like you said … it’s the unexplainable things that keep the world interesting.

      Reply
  3. Of course the guy was smoking stuff, but that doesn’t mean he didn’t experience the event. The world is full of bizarre and mystical events, objects and people, we just have to look. I’m wondering if the witch doctor had an apprentice, shape-shifting could be a useful trick to have.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 9, 2011

      I would find this story harder to believe if I haven’t heard dozens of them, and experienced a few myself.

      Reply
      • I think that’s a key thing. People who’ve experienced strange events are more open to others’ stories.

        Reply
        • EllieAnn

           /  July 9, 2011

          absolutely! That’s why entire cultures (such as ours) don’t experience very many supernatural occurrences. Long live empirical thinking.

          Reply
  4. I’m just grooving on the idea of a were-tiger. LOL I love shapeshifters.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 9, 2011

      let’s hope they all don’t meet such gruesome ends!

      Reply
  5. That would make a great scene in a movie… :)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 9, 2011

      Agreed. You should use it in one of your screenplays. “This is my new hi-tech thriller … with weretigers.” =)

      Reply
  6. Faith

     /  July 9, 2011

    Crazy as it sounds, I believe it. My parents told me tons of crazy stories that happened to them when they were in the Philippines. But I don’t doubt any of them for a second. All the stories do have one thing in common though, God is bigger and wins every battle!

    Reply
  7. As a writer I write mainly fantasy and science fiction. My one novel has a shapeshifter and several restless spirits in it and another is based on the idea that sandmen live on a distant planet and travel to earth each night using sand magic to heal humans. I know I created these stories with my own mind but I so want the concepts behind them to be real.

    Faith is an amazing gift. We as people are only just beginning to learn of the special abilities we can acquire if we are believers.

    Reply
  8. Jess Witkins

     /  July 9, 2011

    Hmm, interesting. I thought the part about knowing the scent of the tiger was really believable without explanation, sometimes you just unmistakably know what something is, you know? If he lived there, he probably did know the scent. It’s a really interesting story, I’m willing to believe it. Wish the shaman hadn’t died though.

    Reply
  9. Do I think the missionary was smoking something? Yep! Or he just wanted to get rid of the witch doctor!

    Reply

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers

