Worldly Wednesday: Hyaenas on a Leash and Bridesmaid Kangaroos

Here in the US, we love our pets. Americans now spend $41 billion a year on their pets—more than the gross domestic product of all but 64 countries in the world (via Business Week) But we’re not the only ones who love our pets. All over the world, kids are coming to their mothers, stray animal in hand asking, “can I keep him?” Pets are something that unite us all.

But what people consider a “good pet” varies widely. Some people prefer betta fish to cocker spaniels. Others would rather be feeding flies to a chameleons (they eat flies, right?) than throw a bale of hay to a pet llama.

Yet we can all appreciate the love for a pet. Here are some inspiring pictures of the utmost affection people have for their pets.

Mozambique- “Goat claims to have a bad back, but methinks he just likes bike rides.”

Nigeria – “Hyena’s are actually misunderstood creatures. They can be a trusted guard dog as long as you never give them a chance to eat your family.”

Australia – “After six maid-of-honors declined bridezilla’s blushing bride’s request,

she finally asked her pet kangaroo, who didn’t have the words to refuse.”

Canada – “It took a few years for Marge to realize that her hat rack was, in fact, alive.”

South America – “After three monkeys ran away from Piero, his parents finally decided to get him a pet that couldn’t outrun him.”

New Delhi – “He eats our fishes, but brings us his weight in honey comb.” (read the incredibly sad story about this family here)

South Africa – “Paul had always hated the commute to work – until he bought a brand new ostrich.”

So tell me … do you have the utmost affection for a particular pet?

What do you think would make a cool pet?

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. A panther would make a great pet. It would eventually try to eat me, but hey, don’t all pets dream of doing that when the master feeds them late.

    Fun post, Ellie :)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      a pet panther would be cool. they seem so mysterious.

      Reply
  2. Great post. Absolutely fun to read.

    I’m an animal lover. Have two rescue dogs aka furbabies in my family and one armadillo that insists he is too.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      An armadillo! That’s awesome! What do armadillo’s eat?

      Reply
  3. I pretty much want a zoo.

    I do love the idea of a sloth.

    And a llama! Or Alpaca. (Not only are they cute, but a fine male specimen brings in ridiculous stud fees. And their wool makes awesome socks)

    I’ve always wanted a wolf or a leopard. Oddly, there is a farm VERY close to my house (I’ve never been, but I’ve heard stories) that has lions and tigers. No bears.

    Reply
  4. EllieAnn

     /  July 13, 2011

    A zoo isn’t too much to ask.
    That boy and his pet sloth is such a CUTE picture, they look like good friends.
    A pet llama reminds me of Emperor’s New Groove. Have you seen that movie? “llama faace!” lol.

    Reply
    • Haha! YES. I went around yelling “llama face” for quite some time. I love that movie.

      Reply
  5. Having four young children who flit and dash around nonstop, I think a sloth would be a nice change of pace.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      “Kids, why can’t you be more like our sloth?”
      ;)

      Reply
  6. I’m with Chase McFadden–a sloth might be nice. Maybe my kids would pause long enough to appreciate him :). My 3-year-old son would like a pet tiger…most of the time. Other times he wants a pet dinosaur (then I have to be the bad guy who lets him know having a pet dinosaur is not just impractical, but impossible). Though the other day he said he wanted a Giant Robot Puppy Dog. At least that would have an off switch, right?

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      Giant Robo Puppy Dog = a darn good pet! No food, no water, doesn’t need walked … only plugged into the wall. I’m sure Japan has some really awesome ones you could get him for Christmas.

      Reply
  7. Oh, my gosh! People are crazy….and I’m one of them. We were watching something last night on TV and I fell in love with something called a mouser (or something like that). They live and hibernate in trees and then come out and feed on the pollen of this gorgeous flower. I’m upset that I didn’t pay closer attention.

    I’ve always wanted a Tiger as a house pet. I’d put a big red bow around his neck and call him when I had guests. “Here, kitty, kitty, kitty!”

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      A tiger is the perfect pet for an island princess. ;)

      Reply
  8. Hey Ellie:

    How weird! I wrote a blog about our epic pet fail and Monkey’s mishap with a “pet wolf” at http://ironicmom.com/2011/07/13/pet-ownership/ today.

    As for me, we are done with pets. These days — after the fish and the dog and the cat — even if a unicorn showed up shooting rainbows out of its ass, I would just gently bring him down the street to my best friend. (She can’t say no to anything with four legs. She also loves rainbows.)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      Ha! Funny. I’m going to check out your blog post now. =)

      Reply
  9. What an entertaining post. I love those captions under the pics. We have four dogs, all rescued. I’ve always wanted sea monkeys, but I hear they’re so hard to train!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      Yes they are, unless you have an unlimited supply of fresh mango smoothies to treat them with. lol. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply
  10. Entertaining post, but I’ll be the party pooper and stick with my old dog…. I get too attached to animals, and when I say goodbye to good old Abby (my soul-dog), no more pets for us! But if I were to get another pet, I think it would be fish, so I could easily take up and go whenever I wanted to!

    Reply
  11. That pet Hyena actually looks pretty fantastic, but I’m still holding out for a diprotodon.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  July 13, 2011

      *googles diprotodon*
      Whoa! That is a beast! Would you want to ride it? Or simply enjoy watching it eat whole trees for dinner?
      And yeah, I think the hyena picture is quite rad. The owner looks just as fierce as his pet. I love it.

      Reply
  12. I always wanted a monkey or a penguin. I would also take a combination of those two species.

    Reply
  13. EllieAnn

     /  July 14, 2011

    A penkey! I like it.

    Reply

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

