Worldly Wednesday: Our World

The fact that we live at the bottom of a deep gravity well, on the surface of a gas covered planet going around a nuclear fireball 90 million miles away and think this to be normal is obviously some indication of how skewed our perspective tends to be.

— Douglas Adams
Romanesco, nature’s delicious fractals. (by Jordan Smith)
Night Lights (Africa & Central S America are very dark)
“These lions have accepted a man as part of their pride.”
Kevin Richardson and his Lions. I love how he laughs with them, “Aye, there’s my boy. There’s my boy.”
p.s. Lions are HUGE.
True story: When my dad was a boy he had a fawn as a pet. It’s cool to be a farm boy.
True story: when I was a little girl I had pet baby raccoons. It’s cool to be a farm girl.
A cool picture by musback of one of my favorite animals.
Another cool photo of one of my favorite animals–the Friesian horse.
I’m so happy to be in this cool world. I hope to live in it until I’m 120, and then go see what other worlds there are.
p.s. Thank you to Jordan Smith and his tumbler blog (Super Collider) for all the inspiration.
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I wanted a raccoon as a kid but my mom said they were dangerous. Also untrustworthy.

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous photos. Thanks hun. Reading and looking through the above pics while sipping coffee was a lovely way to start my morning. And yeah: growing up on a farm is cool.

    p.s. I adore the horse.

    ~El.

    Reply
  3. Just when I thought you couldn’t be more awesome, Ellie, turns out you love the Friesian horse. (Hint: they play a big part in my steampunk story.) Very, very cool!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  February 1, 2012

      Oh my gosh…a Friesian in a steampunk novel? *mindblown*
      I MUST READ!!!

      Reply
  4. I used to mail order $2.00 for real sea horses. They were always so magical, but never lived very long… I always wanted a salt water aquarium….
    Great post!

    Reply
  5. Loved this. The lights over Africa blew my brain apart.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  February 1, 2012

      There’s only a few twinkly lights over Cape Horn…the rest of the millions of people are in darkness. Can’t imagine that.

      Reply
  6. I always wanted a baby racoon. And a fawn. Really I wanted any animal that was cute and fuzzy.

    Reply
  7. I’m in love with that fawn! If only farms stood in the city… ;)

    Reply
  8. Vladimir

     /  February 3, 2012

    Nice photos ! Also, like your Adams quote. I have read his Hitchhikers Guide over 20 times, and can’t wait to read it again. Love when he say, that everything that is infinitely impossible could easily happen at once. :)

    Reply
  9. These raccoons are cute! I’ve seen one the size of a dog a few weeks back.

    Reply

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

