Friday Favorites: Steampunk Holmes

May I introduce you to:

The beautiful Mycroft Holmes, the stalwart Dr John Watson with a clockwork arm,

and Sherlock Holmes.

That’s right. THE Sherlock Holmes. With a lot of steampunk flair.

Steampunk Holmes

Legacy of the Nautilus

Coming to an iPad near you. 

This story is created by a top-notch, ultra-talented team of transmedia storytellers. It is written by P.C. Martin. Illustrated by the illustrious Daniel Cortes, voiced by Gerald Price, marketed by the wonderful Julie Brannon, and produced by the ultra-talented Richard Monson-Haefel.

When I voiced interest, Richard was cool enough to give me a little interview on the project:

Let’s start with the hard questions: how would you define transmedia, and why are you personally drawn to it?
RMH: “Steampunk Holmes is actually cross-media rather than transmedia. With
transmedia you are telling a single story across multiple channels.
Each channel (book, web site, twitter, call-in, etc.) delivers
different perspectives on the same story.  That’s not what Steampunk
Holmes is all about. Steampunk Holmes is a cross-media story by which
I mean it tells the same story in completion using several different
channels (web book, paper books, audio books, ebook). The primary
difference is that with transmedia you are expected to engage in at
least two of the channels to fully engage the story but in cross-media
you can engage with the channel of your choice to get the whole story.”


Fill in the blank: If I am a fan of ________, then I would love
Steampunk Sherlock.

RMH: “Sherlock Holmes, Steampunk, and/or science fiction.”

What made you want to tell this story?

RMH: “At about the same time in my life I rediscovered my love of Sherlock
Holmes as well as one of my favorite science fiction books, The
Difference Engine, a book that I believe was the most important
influence in launching Steampunk.  Inspired by both it seemed natural
to put them together.”

This is one of the best cross-media/transmedia projects I’ve seen. Actually, scratch that. It is the best. I can’t wait until it comes out!

Until then, follow their news on Facebook, Twitter, or go check out their awesome website by clicking on Sherlock’s goggles:

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Very cool! It is logical to use all the media sources out there!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  May 11, 2012

      It’s elementary, My dear Watson…I mean, Susie! =)

      Reply
  2. I didn’t think I was living in a hole, but it appears I might have been since I’ve never heard of this before. Thanks for introducing us to such a cool piece of work, and also for the definitions of trans-media and cross-media. I was going to have to ask for a definition in the comments, but you beat me to it.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  May 11, 2012

      This is all new to me, too! I’ve been trying to catch up in the last 9 months. =)

      Reply
  3. anything steam punk is pretty great and a combination with sherlock holmes sounds like it could really work-awesome.

    Reply
  4. I found this project on Kickstarter. They had already been funded and done. Looks very cool and very well done. I’m now officially a fan. Thanks for the interview.

    Reply
  5. Sounds very interesting. But I don’t have an iPad.

    Reply
  1. Friday Favorites: Crossmedia Steampunk Holmes | Tracking Transmedia | Scoop.it
  2. Friday Favorites: Crossmedia Steampunk Holmes « Transmedia Camp 101

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

