Snow White and the Huntsman

Short version: I really enjoyed this movie.

Long version: The beginning rocked. The middle was still engaging, but kinda lagged. The end . . . well, if you’ve seen it you understand. But if you haven’t I won’t say anything. Just . . . geez!

Snow White and the Huntsman in pictures:

Freakin’ awesome visuals the whole way through

Fairest of them all. Seriously. If they hadn’t added the “Snow White’s heart is beautiful” little subplot they never could’ve said “Snow White is fairer than thou,” with a straight face. Charlize Theron is a goddess.

Kicks butt

Always SO dirty

Unintelligible 

Love these

And this

And this

I was entranced and entertained and engaged . . . everything I want out of a good movie.

Did you see it? What’d you think?

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. So lovely to see you in the flesh Ellie. i can’t wait to see this movie!

    Reply
  2. Great review. I really enjoyed it too. I liked the ending, though it’s apparently much contested among the happily ever after crew.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  June 4, 2012

      The Queen was such an awesome antagonist, I just wish her end would have been more…epic. I didn’t really mind that last scene, although a kiss would’ve been nice. What are they going to do? Make a second movie? LoL.

      Reply
  3. I am looking forward to seeing it! Great review. Love the VLOG!

    Reply
  4. Great vlog! You’re as adorable and fun in video/person as you are in blog/writing person. ;) I haven’t seen the film yet, but probably will once it hits the DVD circuit. Review appreciated!

    Reply
  5. Hey Ellie, such a great video review! You did a fantastic job. And you’re just as fun in full motion as you are in words. :) I saw Snow White on Saturday with my 8.5-month preggers daughter. We both LOVED it! Everything about it. Cinematography and CGI effects were gorgeous and seamless. I felt I was actually there. Charlize Theron: amazing. When she was angry and screaming — whoa! And Kristen Stewart, some have panned her as being lifeless, but I totally disagree. I thought she was perfect. The battles – wow. The troll – way awesome. The scene with SW and the stag – beautiful. The dwarves – so cool how they made Ian McShane, Bob Hoskins, and other actors become dwarves. Though yeah, I couldn’t understand them half the time either. :) And the ending — the look, the smile — loved it!

    And then I saw The Avengers on Sunday. Loved that, too. :)

    Thanks again for the review. Can’t wait for the next one.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  June 4, 2012

      Hi Glenn! Thanks for the great comment. I agree, the cinematography and CGI were so good that I didn’t even think about how good they were until I walked out of the show. Seamless is a good word for them! Charlize Theron is always good, and wow . . . she was so scary in this one! I also liked Kristen Stewart a lot in this film!

      Reply
  6. Great Review. Now I am looking forward to watch this one.

    Reply
  7. I’m reviewing it tomorrow on my blog, I’ll have to link back to you here. I LOVED it!

    Reply
  8. I haven’t seen it yet, but I really want to. Maybe this weekend! Thanks for the sneak peek!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  June 5, 2012

      Cool! Well come tell me how you liked it after you see it. =)

      Reply
  9. Thanks for the run down. I’ve been debating about this movie. I have a natural bias against it because of Kristen Stewart. She’s such a pathetic excuse for an actress in all of her other films. But the idea looks interesting. I may give it a chance.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  June 5, 2012

      There are so many enjoyable things about this movie! Kristen Stewart seems really … green, I guess in many scenes. But overall I just saw Snow White, not Stewart, so that tells me she did a good job.

      Reply
  10. You made me laugh with your take on the directors regarding beauty. Too funny. Great vlog and review!

    Reply
  11. lynnkelleyauthor

     /  June 5, 2012

    I haven’t seen this yet, but the previews sure got my attention. After hearing your vlog (you are sooooooo cute!) with your review, I want to see this even more. Hope I can get my hubby to go with me!

    Reply
  12. Love the review, Ellie – great pics. And you’re vlog! You’re so soft spoken :) Looking forward to seeing this whenever it is we get it here in Oz :)

    Reply
  13. I haven’t seen it yet, and even with mixed reviews. I’d still like to. The visuals look amazing.

    Reply
  14. Hehe, I’m glad to know I wasn’t the only one who had trouble understanding the dwarves!

    Reply
  15. I love that movie. :-) Especially Charlize. :-)

    Reply
  16. Victoria

     /  June 12, 2012

    I completely agree with everything you said Ellie! I also lOved what they did with the apple scene. It pretty much rocked.

    Reply
  1. Movie Review: Snow White and the Huntsman | Tameri Etherton
  2. Writing Blog Treasures 6~9 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer
  3. Do Bullies Sometimes Win? Snow White and the Huntsman - Marcy Kennedy | Marcy Kennedy

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers

