Undead Advertising

A couple nights ago my family and I were playing Loaded Questions: Reveal Yourself in which embarrassing and/or enlightening questions are asked and then you must match up the answer with the correct person.

One of our questions:

If you were a funeral home director, what would your slogan be?

Our answers:

“We make dead persons look good.” -Jesse

“Bring out yer dead!” -Mom

“Time to push up the daisies?” -Rachel

“”Got dead?” -Gavin

“Bury-Mart.”

“Bert’s Burial and Line Dance Studio.” -Dad

“You plug ‘em, we plant ‘em!” -Mom

“You provide the corpse and shirt;

We’ll provide the stone and dirt.” -Me

But I’m not here just to promote funeral homes, which is a worthy and important occupation . . . I’m here to promote one of my favorite writers, Clay Morgan, who is coming out with a book about lots of death, funeral homes, graves, burials, cemeteries, and UNDEAD.

I’ve already read it and give it a whopping 5-stars. It’s a truly entertaining and inspiring read.

Although this book is called UNDEAD, it’s totally sparkling with life. Full of funny stories and crazy adventures and wild tales, you won’t be able to put it down.It comes out in September, and you’ll be sure you’ll be hearing a bunch more about it when that day comes along. So go ahead and preorder it because I have a feeling it’s going to be flying off the shelves. It’ll be as rare as a bengal tiger or a pager or kryptonite.

Wait, I guess Kryptonite isn’t that rare

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. A gem, Ellie. As always. I soooo admire what you do with what you think.

    Reply
  2. “You provide the corpse and shirt; We’ll provide the stone and dirt.”—I love this one!

    Reply
  3. Nicely done, Ellie. The first part was of this post really funny. And Best wishes to Clay Morgan on his new book.

    Reply
  4. Love your intro to this, EA. Hilarious. Two ones I’ve heard is “You stab ‘em, we slab ‘em” and “People are dying to get in here.” Not original, but I haven’t had a full cup o’ tea yet.

    And UNDEAD! Rumour has it that it’s been translated to Canadia!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  June 20, 2012

      I’m so happy to hear that the people of Canada can read UNDEAD! Wait, they have bookstores there?!

      Reply
  5. I love this! Your family is so creative. One of my favorite shows was 6 Feet Under.
    Congrats to Clay! That is so cool that you got to read it early! Love the cover..

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  June 20, 2012

      I try to keep up with my family in the creativity department. ;) Thanks for reading, Susie!

      Reply
  6. Ha, you’re crackin’ me up, Ellie! Great plug. And, I’m with you – it’s a fantastic book!

    Reply
  7. Loved the funeral home captions!

    Reply
  8. Terrific funeral home slogans! I once saw a billboard for The Walking Dead beside a funeral home. I think they had to move the billboard due to poor taste.

    Can’t wait for Clay’s book! I have no doubt it’s awesome!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  June 20, 2012

      HAHAhaha, oh that’s so terrible. I’m sure some people would be happy if they saw their relative come back to life … and some might be a twinge disappointed. ;)

      Reply
  9. I can’t wait to read Clay’s book!!! Thanks for the advertising, Ellie!

    Reply
  10. Ha ha, those slogans are hilarious.

    Reply
  1. Link Feast For Writers, vol. 15 | Reetta Raitanen's Blog

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

