The Two Black Hairs on My Chinny Chin Chin

I have two black hairs on my chinny chin chin.

No warts or moles are involved. They are rebels, growing amongst a field of tiny blonde invisible hairs. Thick and silky, I’m sure they would grow to my belly button if I let them. But I don’t. I pluck them.

*audience heaves a sigh of relief*

But they’re always on my mind. It’s embarrassing to have chin hair, especially two black, thick rebellious chin hairs. I’ll be waiting in the doctor’s office, and someone will give me a weird sidelong glance, and I’ll think, “oh my gosh did I forget to pluck my chin hairs?”

Ladies aren’t supposed to suffer from black chin hairs.

I’ll be wrestling with my daughters and they’ll grab my chin in a headlock (“Let go, sweetie. Mommy needs to breath.”) and I’ll think about whether they feel those hairs.

Or when I’m with Michael, having a deep talk or … our quiet time. And he’ll be staring at me with eyes full of love and I’ll just be thinking about whether he can see those hairs. Even if I plucked them that morning, I still wonder if they’re there and are so ugly. What if he sees them? What if he’d be so put off he wouldn’t look at me that way again?

The worst I can think of was when I went to a concert, a Nickel Creek concert, way back when I was in college. And I got to meet the band. I was on cloud nine. But just as I walked away from shaking their hand and telling them they were God’s gift to mankind . . . I wondered if they saw my chin hairs.

Those blasted, bloody chin hairs.

Isn’t that crazy?

I mean . . . as I’m writing this I’m shaking my head at how self-involved it all is. Michael’s seen much worse on me than two black chin hairs. My girls wouldn’t care if I had a fu manchu mustache much less two hairs. And my favorite band–I don’t think they were staring at my chin the whole time, considering the hundreds of people crowding around them wanting their autograph.

 

 

Mommy?!

(photo by stylewithfashion)

If wonder if everyone has something like that about themselves? That sixth toe or red mole or lightning scar or stretch marks or extra-fifteen-pounds that you feel self-conscious about? That you fixate on when you’re feeling less-than-stellar about yourself?

So I just need to let go of this shame and self-involvement.

I need to believe that others will love me no matter what, chin or no-chin hair.

NO, I won’t prove to the world that I have great self-image by growing out my chin hairs.

*Michael heaves a great sigh of relief*

But I’m going to trash those thoughts about them. When I’m with others, it will be about them and me, and I won’t let my self-esteem butt in between us.

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. When I go to the beauty salon now they say” mani pedi?” and I say ” no. Chin and mustache.” I feel ya.

    Reply
  2. I have a single hair that grows super-long on my chin too! (Well, it’s kind of under my chin…anyway.) I used to pluck it with a tool; now, I just periodically reach up there and yank. It is blond, though. So maybe it’s not so bad. I just have to be careful with close-up photos!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 1, 2012

      It’s blonde? Honey you ain’t got nothing to worry about. :)

      Reply
  3. I have a couple chin hairs, too. And some stretch marks on my hips. And a few extra pounds on my tummy. And….

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 1, 2012

      There’s always something, but we can RISE ABOVE like Batman did. ;)

      Reply
  4. One word for you – electrolysis.

    Reply
  5. I am of Cuban and Southern Italian descent, so hairs cropping up in the most inconvenient places is my life.

    And how is it that I can manage to miss them until I’m already in the car headed somewhere, without a tweezer in sight?

    But you are right – it’s a shame that we let such a small thing cause us to obsess. Rise above the chin hairs!

    Reply
  6. My mother had a hair on her chin, and found out when a none-too-subtle friend reached across the table and yanked it out. Yipes, right?

    It’s amazing how large small things can become with a bit of fixation. I hope that your sharing this takes away some of your self-consciousness—tends to happen.

    PS You’d be gorgeous with a full-on beard. Just sayin ;)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 1, 2012

      So you think I could pull off The Bearded Lady? Sah-weet! I’ll have to go see if there’s an available position at the Carnival. =)

      Reply
  7. I have one that grows out of a mole but thankfully it’s blonde. And yes, I’m always worried if someone is fixated on my flaws, of which there are many, lol.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 1, 2012

      It’s weird how we can obsess so easily about something that other people might not even notice!

      Reply
  8. There’s a simple proverb in there somewhere. “Those staring at their chin miss shooting stars,” or, “if it’s black, trim it back” – something like that.

    Reply
  9. Try carrying a 30 or 40 pound pillow under your shirt all the time. It must be a pillow – it couldn’t all be me.

    Reply
  10. I am right there with you! I have half a dozen of those little black monsters that get regularly plucked out. But I always think about how it could be worse…I could have so many that they need to be SHAVED off.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 1, 2012

      Right! I need to count my blessings of having chin hair . . . no razors are involved.

      Reply
  11. Brave of you for sharing this. Any kind of facial hair at all is really stressful for us women.
    And now of course I’m going to carry tweezers in my purse!

    Reply
  12. Zappa!!

    Reply
  13. I have one under my chin that’s been growing there for years…I mean, I pluck it ever so often, so it hasn’t LITERALLY been growing for years. :D

    Reply
  14. I have facial hair, too, Ellie! I have total panic about it all the time. And I’m sure no one notices or if they do, don’t give a damn, but still it bothers me. Oy.

    Reply

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

