The Best TV Shows In The World

When I say, “The Best TV Shows In The World!!!” *clashes cymbals* *toots horns* *confetti everywhere* What I really mean is, “My favorite shows in the world!!!”

LOST

It was love a first sight. I’m hooked, HOOKED on this show. I was from the very first minute it aired, until the very last second of it’s TV Primetime Heartbeat. It has the ability to make 46 minutes fly by as if they were 5 min. It has the ability to grab you by the heart and mind at the same time.

Apart from it’s sheer entertainment, it also taught me a lot about storytelling. #1 rule in storytelling: It’s about the characters, and always will be. #2: Never underestimate a good mystery.

If you create mystery in a story about people you care about, then the audience will be eating out of your hand.

John Locke is one of the best characters I’ve watched, as is Benjamin Linus. The Jack/Kate/Sawyer love triangle was fascinating and mysterious. Hurley made me want to hug the TV anytime he was on. And Shannon made me want to slap it. And Desmond and Penny . . . need I say more?

I really liked the last season of this show. It was incredibly satisfying to see how they concluded every relationship. Although every mystery wasn’t solved, I am okay with that. Because in it’s essence, it wasn’t a TV show about The Island and its mysteries, it was a show about people. And they gave us their conclusion, which left me breathless and not completely dry eyed.

If you haven’t seen this show, I highly recommend it. It’s #1 in my book.

Veronica Mars

Witty. Good-hearted. Mysterious. Witty. That’s why I like this show. The dialogue is brilliant, and the themes edgy yet . . . fun. It’s about a teenage detective who solves crimes, and she must discover who killed her best friend. That synopsis in itself seems loaded with cliches, and the trope overdone. But this is not Nancy Drew, and Veronica Mars is one of the most well developed female character I’ve seen on TV.

She also has an awesome relationship with her dad, which is always good to see.

Something cool about this show was the fantastic way they gave her a mystery to solve every show, and also developed an over-arching mystery throughout each season. I love it that way. It keeps the tension high.

Sherlock

Speaking of mystery, let’s talk about the reigning King of the Mystery Thriller, Sherlock Holmes himself.

Just like Veronica Mars, this dialogue is quick and witty. The characters are fully realized and engaging. Each 1:10 min. episode has Sherlock and his only friend, Watson, solving a case.

It’s hard to think of this as a TV show, though. Each season has only 3 episodes, and there have only been 2 seasons. The episodes play more like feature films.

The climax to season 3 was brilliant, I couldn’t stop thinking about it for days. It truly wrung my heart strings and left me giddy for more. The perfect show, aye?

Firefly

What do you get if you mix a rebel cap’m, stalwart warrior wife, nerdy and funny pilot, faithful and wise shepherd, lawless and lewd gunman, sweet and ornery mechanic, and two mysterious strangers?

You’ve got one of the best shows ever made.

If you are a geek, or related to one, chances are you’ve heard of Firefly. And chances are you’ve heard about how IDIOTIC it was that it got cancelled.

So there are only a few episodes to enjoy. But enjoy them I did.

Joss Whedon is an absolute magnificent MASTER at creating a team. The subtle (and not so subtle) way each character interacts with each other is nothing short of brilliant. The plot is enticing as well, always developing and growing deeper, yet never overwhelming character development.

It’s a heckuva show, folks.

Studio 60 On The Sunset Strip

The creator, Aaron Sorkin, packs a punch in each episode. These characters are layered and complex and extremely fast talking. Which I love.

There are some timeless moments in this show. It’s the only time I’ve ever laughed and cried at the same time.

It was cancelled after one season, but the writers had enough time to wrap everything with a pretty little bow. I like it that way. I had enough time with the characters to enjoy them thoroughly, but not enough time with them to grow tired of them.

Oh, and did I mention it’s witty? It is. It seems wittiness is a must for my favorites.

Avatar: The Last Airbender

Wait, you haven’t seen Avatar: The Last Airbender? Oh my word. You guys. YOU GUYS. YOU MUST GO SEE IT NOW.  If I could describe it in one word it’d have to be: likable. It’s jam packed with likability, which is a worthy trait. Without a doubt, this is, minute by minute, one of the best shows I’ve ever seen. The plot and characters are unparalleled.

It’s synopsis: In a war-torn world of elemental magic, a young boy reawakens to undertake a dangerous mystic quest to fulfill his destiny as the Avatar.

The world building is thorough and intense. The creators did an amazing job of putting you in a fantasy world, where people can control the elements, and yet they also gave a big sense of familiarity and home.

Prince Zuko has one of the best character arcs I’ve ever seen or read. Ever. This show is brilliant in its simplicity, heart, and dialogue. Aang. Katara. Sokka. Toph. Uncle Iroh. Just saying the names bring vivid memories, as if I really know them in real life.

Ever storyteller should watch this show, and hopefully follow suit. We need more stories like it.

Oh, and it’s witty.

Runners Up:

Lie To Me

Downton Abbey (1st Season)

Heroes (1st, 2nd Season)

Fringe

Legend of Korra

Most anticipated:

What are your favorite shows?

Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. Good choices (I’m also a big Lost fan)…but I’d have to add Monk to the list too.

    Reply
  2. Big fan of Lost! It taught me a lot about storytelling as well, encouraging me to utilize flashbacks with gusto. : )

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 23, 2012

      Absolutely! I totally forgot about that part. So much of LOST was in telling the backstory/futurestory/sideflashes.

      Reply
  3. Given how many of our choices match up, it looks like I’ll have to check out Veronica Mars and The Last Airbender :)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 23, 2012

      Excellent! I hope you do! =)
      I love reading your reviews on TV shows, Amber. They’ve made me check out a few … and stay away from others, LoL.

      Reply
  4. For shame! I haven’t seen most of these shows. I have a lot of catching up to do. Thanks, E!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      You know me, I like to encourage good TV show watching. Which you get points taken AWAY for, didn’t you just watch an episode of Toddlers and Tiara’s for your blog? “Research?” ;)

      Reply
      • Haha. Yeah, I did! A buddy of mine told me about Honey Boo Boo and I was like this can’t be real. Unfortunately, it is. Haha.

        Reply
  5. I loved LOST, but it “lost” me when it evolved into flashbacks and time traveling. Although I really enjoyed the last few shows of the last season!
    I just tuned into the last few Sherlock Holmes episodes and the cliffhanger left me breathless!
    I haven’t seen some of these shows, but loved Lie to Me. After watching a few episodes, I could “see” what people were really thinking!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      Wasn’t that cool how they actually taught you how to recognize non-verbal cues in Lie To Me? I loved it. Every writer should watch it, it teaches so much about communicating through more than dialogue.

      Reply
  6. I like your list. I think Fringe deserves more than “honorable mention”

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      Although it is an awesome show, t was too up and down for me. Some episodes would be great, and then the next would be … okay. And Season 2 really struggled. Remember when her _____ worked with her during one episode … about five episodes after he’d been killed? The writers said they never intended on airing that episode, and then decided to anyway. oops! ;)

      Reply
  7. Love Downton Abbey, Sherlock, Big Bang Theory, Castle (Nathan!), and am a huge Firefly fan. Duh. We’re sort of shopping our options right now since a lot of the shows my husband watches ended. I usually just lurk in the background when he has a show on, since I have major commitment issues. I did enjoy watching Bones, but the season ender made me cranky. And I want to love Once Upon A Time, but it’s hard to love a show that clearly gives the Evil Queen too much power.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      I have major commitment issues, too. Shows take up a lot of time/effort/energy/discussion/binges on merchandise…so I want that show to be worth it!

      Reply
  8. I was also a huge Heroes fan, because of the fact that it was supernatural but grounded in the real world and because it had an overarching story line.

    I also loved Firefly. It had characters I could easily relate to.

    Thankfully both of these series’ are on Netflix in their entirety. :)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      Heroes was so fun to watch! And you just can’t beat Firefly with their relatable characters. =)

      Reply
  9. I loved Firefly too. Lost hooked me from the first episode but I did grow tired towards the end when the storylines made no sense. I got the sense the writers didn’t know what they were doing the last couple of seasons and were just making it up as they went along.
    I’ve heard great things about Veronica Mars so must go buy the boxset.
    My favourites would be Buffy, The X-Files, Friends, Roswell, Dark Angel and The Big Bang Theory.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      You’re probably right about the LOST writers not knowing exactly what was going on. There were just so many things about the show that redeemed it, and so many unforgettable moments that I can forgive the discrepancies.

      Reply
  10. Yay! I’m so glad Lie to Me won an honorable mention. ;) That’s one of my faves, along with Prison Break, Criminal Minds, The Good Wife and Brothers and Sisters. You mentioned a few I haven’t seen. If I give them a watch, I’ll let you know what I think. Great post, Ellie Ann.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      Prison Break!! I forgot! The first season of that show is INCREDIBLE. It’s so exciting. It should get an honorable mention.

      Reply
  11. Ooo, some good ones there, and I’m curious to check out Avatar now that you mention it :) Currently hooked on Damages, Breaking Bad, Mad Men and (should I admit to Pretty Little Liars?) :)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      I’ve heard great things about all of those shows! Even Pretty Little Liars, Tiffany A. White loves that show. =)

      Reply
  12. Great choices! We were bummed when Studio 60 was canceled. You’d like Sports Night (another short-lived but quality show) – it’s a behind-the-scenes tv production theme, too – really quality writing!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      I’ll have to check out Sports Night. I know Sorkin is coming out with a new show soon…I like his style a lot.

      Reply
  13. I’m with you on Lost as numero uno but then I am completely out of the loop on all the rest. I’d get Psych and The Walking Dead on my list. Shocking right?

    Reply
  14. Serenity rocked. I’m looking forward to Revolution, but I wonder if it will be like Abrams’ other stuff and he loses interest or goes off to work on something else.

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  August 25, 2012

      I sure hope not! I actually hope they already have a definite last season, as of now. I think it’s smart to do that, then the writers know how much they should wrap up, and when. Generally, I think most shows aren’t capable to running quality episodes for more than 5-6 seasons, then they either repeat themes or start bringing people back from the dead.

      Reply
  15. i watched Lost’s first series on terrestrial TV over her in the UK. Then a Satellite Channel bought the rights and that was the end of that! Utterly confusing but you had to watch it. I enjoy Curb Your Enthusiasm.

    Reply
  16. I like a lot of your choices! Beyond the obvious (Lost, Firefly, Veronica Mars), I also thought Studio 60 was a decent show and was surprised when it was cancelled. Maybe not my favorite,but I liked it.

    As for my favorites: Breaking Bad — it’s dark but it’s the best show on TV right now. Incredible acting, amazing writing both with the dialogue and the story arcs. I can’t think of a single wasted episode in the whole series, and that’s pretty rare, even for series’ I like.

    Justified — like Breaking Bad, the writing and acting are top notch. This is a well crafted show that also doesn’t tend toward filler episodes that don’t add to the existing story or characters.

    psych — it’s fun! And it’s clever and witty beyond the slapstick humor. I adore Gus.

    Reply
  1. Thrilling TV: What Rocks Your Tube? « August McLaughlin's Blog

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

