What I Did Last Summer

Walked in the trails behind the house. I know them better than my left hand.

Smelled these

Found this. It’s Old Jonas’ House. Currently, a family of raccoons resides in it. But they’re messy folks and I expect them to be evicted soon. If you’re interested in the location . . . just call.

Dam

Stole a few berries from Mother Nature

Went Cycling

Saw some art exhibits (this one is called “Family rides Dragon”)

Saw yo mama the llama at the Zoo. Watch out, they spit.

Drank Coffee

Cooked Birthday breakfasts

Cooked Birthday suppers

Fed my kid

Fed him some more.

Cleaned my kid. About every ten minutes.

Kept my kid from falling off dangerous precipices. About every 10 minutes.

Got new piercings

Taught my kids amazing new skills. Like this.

And this.

Went to a circus.

Ran the Warrior Dash over death-defying obstacles. Fire was involved. And running.

Met my new, little niece, Valentine Greer. She’s awesome.

Bubble Tea.

Saved a bird. Actually, I watched as my brother saved a bird. I like to think the bird uses his second chance at life to improve the lives of birds everywhere, and improves man/bird relations. 

S’mores.

And . . . I got a new job, finished writing a book, read tons of books, and met the amazing Piper Bayard and Jennifer Joseph.

Can a girl ask for more? I think not.

What did you do last summer?

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Sounds like one hell of a summer. Lovely pics.

    Reply
  2. That, dear one, is a FABULOUS summer.

    Reply
  3. Mmmm…smores.

    Where did you run the Warrior Dash?

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  September 10, 2012

      I did it in Earlham, Iowa. It was quite a show! And so well organized. I’d love to run another. Have you run them before?

      Reply
      • I didn’t run, but I went with Kiefer to one in MD. I loved all the costumes people wore. The obstacles scare me. I’m more of a straight 5K girl.

        Reply
        • EllieAnn

           /  September 11, 2012

          The costumes were awesome. It’s a fun atmosphere!
          And the hardest obstacle for me was climbing the net *shudder* It was not fun to be so high on a rickety net.

          Reply
  4. Wow! What a cool summer full of awesome memories. And it was so good to see you!

    Reply
  5. Kids in nature! Kids doing yoga! You are an inspirational mama, that’s fo sure!

    Reply
  6. What a fab summer full of adventure and fun!

    Reply
  7. Aw, I love your photo montage. So much fun! Looks like an awesome and accomplished summer, Ellie Ann!

    P.S. You are gorgeous!

    Reply
  8. I love Old Jonas’ House! There used to be some places like that around where my grandparents lived. Alas, they are no more…

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  September 11, 2012

      Old Jonas’ House is on a nature preserve, I think that’s why it has lasted this long. Those old cabins are a treasure.

      Reply
  9. I love the new piercings!! I met in person, went on tour with and started working full time for my male bff. I also had 2 other friends come in from out-of-state to visit their OH buddy.

    Reply
  10. Fab photos – love em!

    As for me, I helped my parents celebrate 50 years of marriage at an afternoon/evening barbecue. That was the good. The not so good was celebrating the life of my father-in-law after he died from Parkinsons Plus Syndrome.

    But with close family and faith, in some ways it’s all good.

    Reply
  11. Soooooo cool! I had the highest high…watching my son make his bar mitzvah — and then experienced the lowest low…watching my non-backed-up computer crash, taking everything along with it. Twelve years of pictures. All my writing. My recommendations. Every day, I remember a new thing that was stored on there that is gone. So glad you made these wonderful memories.

    Make sure you back your thang up! ;-)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  September 13, 2012

      We’re quite anal around here about backing up computers. My MS is kept in 3 different places, plus a hardcopy. But geez, I’m SO SO SO sorry to hear you lost yours. It’s tragic indeed. =(

      Reply
  1. I’ve Been Totally Missing Out on This Hogwarts Thing! « Jess Witkins' Happiness Project

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

