Breaking Steele, the New Book Deal, and A-Patt

Four years ago, during the grand month of November, I wrote my first novel. It was called Demas’ First Task: The Prophecy of Rob and it’s hidden deep in my hard drive, banished there because it had no plot.

And so I started learning about how to write a book. Because for most people (yes, probably you, too) it doesn’t come naturally. And then I started hanging out with writer people, and I met a hundred awesome and inspiring authors that made me even more passionate about the business. And they also taught me that being published wasn’t the end goal, but just a huge, exciting event along the way. And then I started blogging, and I learned how to write things in a way people connected to. I learned what people liked, and what people didn’t like, and also that you couldn’t please everyone.

And then, with the help of Kristen Lamb and Piper Bayard, I got a job as an editor at Stonehouse Ink.

So, four years later, and four books later (they say it takes four books before a writer is published. Which is exactly true for me.) I was asked by my awesome boss at Stonehouse Ink if I wanted to co-author a series with him.

So unexpected. And so fun.

So we made a deal and wrote a book together. Easy Peasy Dumplin’s Greasy. It certainly wasn’t how I thought my first published book would turn out. It was so . . . painless. =D

Aaron Patterson (or, A-Patt as I like to call him when he isn’t listening) is a phenomenal writer with a head full of ideas. I swear, he has so many ideas that he probably swims in a pool of them at night. And what he’s good at I’m bad at. And what he’s bad at I’m good at. So we’re coming out with a series together and we’re going to kick butt.

You can pre-order our book. It’s called: BREAKING STEELE. Or you can just look at it. It’s so pretty.

Back Cover:
Sarah Steele has a lot to prove. Foster care brat turned successful Assistant District Attorney, she’s enjoying her magical pumpkin carriage ride but knows she is only one mistake away from landing on the curb. When she’s given an open-and-shut case regarding multi-millionaire Hank Williams and his murder of young Tracy Mulligan, Sarah’s determined to win. But when everything goes wrong, and there’s a killer on the loose, she isn’t prepared for who the real battle is against: herself. Is she really willing to do anything to take Hank Williams down? 
Who is she? The successful, happy ADA or the wild, angry vigilante? 
If you’re thinking it sounds like a female, attorney version of  Dexter, you’re kind of right. Except it isn’t nearly as dark as Dexter and it has no sex or swearing. I swear.
I’m just so humbled by it all. I’m thankful for A-Patt, that he chose me to write with him. I’m thankful that he’s such a stellar guy to work with. I’m glad that Stonehouse Ink is there to publish it. And I’m glad for all of you, for being there for me and encouraging and laughing and listening with me during this journey.
In honor of my book deal I’d like to give you this: a cyber egg roll. From me to you.
Oh, and here’s some cyber Jalapeño Cheetos, I know they’re a favorite:
And here’s a cyber chocolate statue of Michaelangelo’s David. But don’t eat it all in one sitting. Trust me.
I love you all. (Yes, even you in the back, the one licking Cheeto dust off his fingers.)
Leave a comment

68 Comments

  1. YAY!

    Very exciting!

    Reply
  2. Congrats, Ellie Ann. Awesome stuff.

    Reply
  3. Congrats, Ellie! Looks super cool. YOu must be on Cloud Nine right around now. My only question is, why is your name only partial, and SMALLER?

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  October 18, 2012

      I haven’t stopped smiling.
      I’ve always wanted to go by Ellie Ann. And I’m glad to have my name on any cover, no matter how big it is! =)

      Reply
      • You’ve got plenty of reason to smile, girlie! And I think it’s cool that you’re going by a single name. Like Sting. Or Cher. (not Snookie, though, LOL!).

        Reply
  4. Congratulations, Ellie Ann! Sounds like a winner!

    Reply
  5. Marni Mann

     /  October 18, 2012

    WOO HOO! So happy for you, my friend!

    Reply
  6. Congrats! Great cover, too:)

    Reply
  7. So, soooo happy for you, EllieAnn!!! You sound thrilled, and very proud.
    I’m proud of you, too.
    Best wishes on many sales, and many more dazzling stories to come.
    Have a great weekend :)
    Tamara

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  October 18, 2012

      Hi Tamara! You were one of the first writers I met on twitter. You write such quality work, it means a lot to hear you say this! Thank you.

      Reply
  8. Wooooooo-hooo! HOO! This is fabulous.

    Reply
  9. Larry Enright

     /  October 18, 2012

    Awesome, Ellie Ann! Will it be out for Kindle? I’d love to read it and let you know what I think.

    Reply
  10. Congrats, sis! Great work. Keep shipping.

    Reply
  11. Congrats!

    Reply
  12. Squeeeeeeee! Fantastic! It is sooooo pretty! Can’t wait to read it. Because i love you. And I love Dexter. And what could be better than a female Dexter co-authored by you! ;-)

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  October 18, 2012

      Thanks, Renee! You’re such a joy to have as a friend. I’m blessed. =)

      Reply
  13. Yay for the book deal! The cover’s a beauty and the storyline hooked me.

    Reply
  14. I’m tearing up, Ellie Ann. So proud of and stoked for you! WAHOO! I can’t wait to read it, after I’ve gazed at the gorgeous cover. ;) The writing and WANA communities are blessed to have you. CHEERS! *tosses confetti*

    Reply
    • Ellie Ann

       /  October 18, 2012

      When I first saw the cover I thought, “Wow, Sarah looks a lot like August.” =) Which is rad. Did you do some modeling for this cover?

      Reply
  15. *jumping up and down* AWESOME! See, when I first saw you on Twitter long ago I thought, that Ellie is a total treasure, brilliant mind, free thinker, and someone that is sure to succeed. Ultra-excited for you and can’t wait to read the book :)

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Gene. When I first saw you on twitter I thought, “He’s smart, funny, and intelligent. I’m gonna hang on his coat tails.” =)

      Reply
  16. Ooh that’s awesome, Ellie! Congratulations. If it’s alphabetical order on the bookshelf all the James Patterson fans will get a look too, so cool! Can’t wait to read it :)

    Reply
  17. Congrats! Love the cover, love the blurb. Enjoy this great moment, Ellie Ann!

    Reply
  18. This is soooo fantastic, Ellie. And what a great opportunity for you, writing with “A-Patt”!! (Oh my, he’s a prolific penner, isn’t he?) I love this genre and I trust (please! fingers crossed, please!) that your engaging sense of humor runs rampant throughout . . . yes?! I’m mostly an e-reader guy these days, but this calls for a special ink-on-paper celebration, so I just pre-ordered. ;-)
    And an extra thanks to you . . . I’ve been slumping of late and you’ve inspired me. *sincere e-fistbump*
    Cheers, my friend.

    Reply
    • Glenn, your comment means so much to me. Thank you! Every bit of encouragement and kind words you’ve had for me has mattered a lot. Thanks for reading, and thanks for being a great guy to know!
      Happy writing to you! You can do it!

      Reply
  19. Congratulations Ellie! I can’t wait to read it! Sounds like a great book!

    Reply
  20. I am so excited for you, Ellie!!! I can’t wait to read it!!! HUGS

    Reply
  21. malindalou

     /  October 18, 2012

    Congratulations and good luck!! :D

    Reply
  22. OMG! Ellie this is awesome! I bet you had a blast working on this project and what a cool experience to share with another writer. I wish you much success! I didn’t know Kristen and Piper helped get you that job, how cool! WANA’s are pretty amazing! Go you!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  October 18, 2012

      Yes, it was so much FUN! It also went by really fast, and I could barely believe it was happening to me.
      WANAs are amazing. I’m only here because of the help from my friends! =)

      Reply
  23. Congrats!!! I have already pre-ordered and am super excited to read it! You may think writing doesn’t come naturally but it certainly doesn’t seem that way whenever I read something you’ve written. I am so happy for you and hope to see many more books with your name on the cover!!!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  October 18, 2012

      haha, you should have seen my earlier work. let’s say my ability to structure a novel was not the “natural” part–it had more loop holes than an old afghan blanket!
      And thanks so much, I can’t wait to see more books with YOUR name on it! We’re gonna take over the world. Or, at least a small sub-culture.

      Reply
  24. Karen McFarland

     /  October 18, 2012

    Congratulations Ellie! What a great reward for all your hard work!

    Say what? No sex or swearing? You swear? How did you do that? I’m joking my wana sister. I have no plans of putting sex or swearing in my novel either. So you actually give me renewed hope that it’s possible to publish something like this. :)

    I cannot wait to read it!!!!!!

    Reply
    • EllieAnn

       /  October 18, 2012

      That’s right, no sex or swearing. And I don’t usually swear so that was easy for me. It was hard when the scenes got intense, though, and Aaron and I let a few, “she swore,” go through. It made me make her dialogue more creative, which is always good.
      And good luck to you!

      Reply
  25. Congratulations! I can’t wait to read it!

    Reply
  26. It’s been such a joy to watch you grow into a published author, and It’s an honor to be your friend. If I have helped in any way, it was a small thing in comparison to who you have chosen to be in life. All of the opportunities in the world would not have made a difference if you were an a*******. :)

    Reply
  27. Congratulations! What fantasatic news!

    Reply
  28. Whooo! Congratulations on the book! Sounds like your journey is getting a little more amazing, but is no where near ending. Have fun, enjoy the process, and keep writing kick butt stuff!

    Reply
  29. That is so amazing! Congratulations! ::raising a Pop-Tart in your honor::

    Reply
  30. That’s fantastic news *he says with a mouth full of David’s cyber chocolate leg* and well earned!

    Reply
  31. The book is at the final proofreader, I hope to have it up on Kindle by the end of the month and as a paperback in November. Glad to be working with you Ellie, you are one smart chick. =)

    Reply
  32. Congrats! This is very exciting news :)

    Reply
  33. Awesome! Congrats!!! Off to go pre-order. :D

    Reply
  34. Hey, hula hoop! I passed along the Next Big Thing Award to you! It doesn’t come with a dancing cat meme BUT it does have some cool interview questions for you to share with readers about the transition from blog to book and the project you’re working on!

    Here are the “interview” questions! http://torinelson.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/jesus-christ-tidy-cats-the-technicolor-dream-plot/

    Reply
  35. J Holmes

     /  November 13, 2012

    Hey kid. It helps my brain when someone decent and likeable like you succeeds at something. You made my day.

    Reply
  1. The End is Near (and we deserve it) . . . Skydive Naked for Rhinos « Bayard & Holmes
  2. This Fat Joke Comes With Prizes! « the ramblings

Your thoughts on the matter...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

